Back to the 1920s

Happy Belated Canada Day!

Hope you all had a fabulous long weekend! Hubby and I were invited to attend a theme wedding – a 1920s wedding. So cool. I had been pinteresting ideas for about 6 months and finally put together the PERFECT outfit with 1 1/2 days to spare.

Hubby found a zoot suit at the costume place in town – SO ridiculously easy for him. I finally found a cream dress with black lace at the thrift store and added a black scarf to create the look of a low waist.  Then it was all about the accessories! Fishnet stockings, lace gloves, long beads, flapper headband, and a cigarette holder.  Porcelain doll-like makeup meant dark eyeliner, smokey eyes and bright red lipstick. The hair was, however, a mystery to me, so I opted for lots of ringlets and I think I pulled it off.

Here we are being tough gangsters:

2013-06-29_16-39-19_423 (2)

image

And here I am doing a little showing off of my outfit:

image

We had an absolute blast at the wedding, did lots of dancing, and got lots of compliments! I must say that I absolutely adored going “back to the 20s” and have decided to bring some of the 20s into my everyday life…the bright red lipstick in particular 😉

For the wedding card I wanted to do something vintage to reflect the 1920s theme. I started with the Very Vanilla cardstock and used the Music Notes wheel, then I splattered it with Chocolate Chip re-inker. To give it an even more aged look I sponged with Crumb Cake ink all over and particularly around the edges.  Since the polka dot paper is actually white, not vanilla I sponged all over it with Crumb Cake ink too. I used the En Francais background stamp on Crumb Cake cardstock and inked around the edge of it too.

image

The Champagne glimmer paper cut with  the dotted scallop ribbon punch gives it just the right amount of bling. The greetingt is from Seasonal Sayings and was the perfect vintage-inspired sentiment.  Don’t you think?

wpid-2013-07-02-08.25.19.jpg

Leave a Reply

