Fathers Day thanks

With Fathers Day coming up this weekend I guess I am just in the “masculine” mindset.  I am really enjoying using the new Hostess set called Simply Sketched.

simplysketchedIt’s not my typical stamp set, I don’t often go for that watercoloury-type look. But this set is just SO versatile with beautiful images and some all-occasion sentiments.

 

 

 

 

I used this weeks Retrosketch #67 for the inspiration for my card.

rs67

 

 

 

Fathers Day thanks

 

 

 

 

I used the cotton ribbon as the background flag and stuck it down with glue dots.  I ran the woodgrain folder on a piece of soft suede cardstock through the Big Shot.  I tore the edge of the cardstock before running it through the Big Shot because I have found that if do it after embossing then sometimes the rip will try follow the embossing lines. For the image I used my markers in Basic Gray and highlighted with  Marina Mist on the bird and Old Olive and So Saffron in the grass.  Then I tied the Linen Thread around the image and finished with  the “Thanks so much” sentiment in Soft Suede.

I think my boys will give this one to their Dad for Father’s Day and they can write inside it “….for being such a great Dad.”

Leave a Reply

