A sketch and colours to go with it

Searching for some inspiration…where else but online.  I came across two challenges and decided to combine them to come up with something.

I really enjoy Retrosketches, so here is their sketch for the week:
rs66

Then I came across this bright and summery colour pallet at ColourQ for the week:
colourq191

After putting it all together, I ended up with this Father’s Day card:
Picture7

Masculine cards for me usually means simple and no-frills.  I hesitated trying to use such bright colours on a masculine card – as I tend to go mono-colour or neutrals – but I stretched my creative muscles.

I used the Morning Post Alphabet stamps and sponged the letters with Basic Gray and Coastal Cabana (which I substituted for Cool Caribbean).  The pointing finger is also sponged but with Basic Gray on the shirt sleeve and Real Red on the hand. The Daffodil Delight paper is one of the patters from the *New* Epic Day DSP.

What do you think? Did I pull off a bright yet masculine card?

Leave a Reply

