Appreciation

Last week I participated in an child care provider appreciation event to honour the hard work of child care providers in our community.  One of the ways I supported the event was to create paper flowers to give out to each of the child care providers.  I got the idea from my friend Danielle Calder over at StampEnvy.ca, where she made flowers as teacher appreciation gifts (check out Danielle’s here.)

Since we were giving out just one paper flower per person I made them all the same size, but each unique with colours, designs, and embellishments.  I also added a Thank you flag to each flower.  Here they are displayed at the event –

Picture9

These came together rather quickly with the Fun Flowers Bigz Die and the Big Shot for the Designer Series Paper.  I also added two layers of tissue paper cut with two of the flower punches. I found that  cutting the tissue paper with a layer of printer paper worked great.  The stems were made with a large coil of craft wire that I cut to size.  The paper flower layers were held together with Tombow glue. The craft wire I sandwiched with a glue gun between the largest flower and the second largest paper flower layer, which left the back of the flower nice and tidy.  Lastly each flower was embellished with a coordinating button, large rhinestone, coordinating dahlia, or a new simply pressed clay flower.

It felt great to hand each child care provider a flower that would last forever, just like their love and attention for the children in their care.

4 thoughts on “Appreciation

Leave a Reply

